Dunton, CO

click image for full size version

© Tim Peterson, all rights reserved worldwide

My first HDR image – circa 2010 – so long ago that I cheated the Photomatix demo version by erasing 180 degree layers… I have since purchased the software and love it.

HDR can be a fine line. I love the effect, but it’s easy to go too far. Tom Till is a renowned photographer that has certainty gone too far with HDR, and claims to be repentant yet his gallery and FB page are still full of candy colored fantasies. To each their own, I say. HDR is closer to what the human eye sees. No more black shadows and blown highlights, in my opinion it’s a good thing. I can finally reclaim detail in my nice clouds without the hassle of a pack full of graduated NDs and clumsy filter holders. Oversaturation of color?  Well, none of us are without our issues…

http://www.outdoorphotographer.com/how-to/shooting/digital-pitfalls-a-cautionary-tale.html

